Sharon Howes joins The Mutual Bank Board of Directors

The Mutual Bank has announced the appointment of experienced executive and non-executive leader, Sharon Howes, to its Board of Directors.

Appointed in November, Mrs Howes has joined the Board with around 30 years’ experience in executive leadership and business consultancy garnered through a career spanning manufacturing, energy, and resources in private, listed, and government sectors.

Mrs Howes is the Managing Director of AblesonHowes and Associates, a business advisory firm, as well as a Partner at Intelligite, a consultancy that specialises in auditing organisational culture, risk culture, conduct, and non-financial risk.

A former Director of another local member-owned bank for more than 20 years, Mrs Howes has significant banking and financial services experience in the Hunter Region.

The Mutual Bank Chairman of the Board, Trevor Robinson, said he was thrilled that The Mutual Bank continues to attract a skilled and diverse range of talent to the Board of Directors.

 “The Mutual Bank is committed to continually delivering best-in-class financial service to our members, and the governance and leadership provided by the Board are essential to this. I am proud to see The Mutual Bank Board continue to strengthen and evolve alongside the organisation and wider community,” Mr Robinson said.

“The extensive leadership, industry and technical experience Sharon brings to our organisation is an incredible asset to The Mutual Bank, and I couldn’t be happier to welcome her to the Board of Directors.” 

The Mutual Bank Director, Mrs Howes, said she was honoured to have the opportunity to contribute to furthering the success of a respected local institution.  

“The Mutual Bank is a true founding institution in the Hunter Region’s financial landscape and one that has experienced substantial growth in recent years. I am looking forward to diving in and getting to know how The Mutual Bank operates” said Mrs Howes.

Mrs Howes holds a Bachelor of Science and a Graduate Diploma of Management and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sharon Howes joins existing Board members, Trevor Robinson, Bruce Arnott, Melinda Smith, Steve Meyn, and Deb Mirisch.